A recollection from my shamanic session on Mother’s Day with Elena Salazar, Intuitive Coach and Body Worker.

the moon is rising in the “V” of the tree
Vulnerability
where i am open and raw at the heart

soft white orb glows
fills up the chest of my thunder struck tree
houses the soft child
nested in the trunk

pearl essence dots the cells
and tiny moons multiply

the umbilical girl is tucked inside hugging her heart

the white radiance warms and lights the darks spots
the hard holes that hold
the teeth with cavities

the bark of the shelled-out tree is tough and strong
the trunk, it’s vibrant roots travel down, down
intuitively find the Mother womb, the Source
she welcomes and obliges
we are her children, she is our Mother
this is what is meant to be.

umbilical pumps the blood to the root
keeps us alive
and the moon light
softens the gaze
eases the blow of outer life
magnifies but heals
radiates truth, magnificence

soft child curls to red heart, her comforting gift
rests in the shade of morning glory
night bird flight.

then grey ball of guilt catches in throat
swells and blocks the flow but dams are necessary on this river ride
to measure out the flow

we get stuck and ask why, why
cry out in pain, misery, ego-self, dwarfed into material being…

the moon sings out, drink, drink
drink my moon milk

i serve moon milk to grey ball, shadow and child
this all takes time which
holds us in question, makes us do our homework

all the shame in the world won’t set you free
but love surely will if you are patient

know the moon milk is Mother’s milk, it nurtures

shaman sucks through a straw and calls the grey ball home, from where it came
all the grey ones inside disburse one by one

then the eddy breaks
and the cork that stopped me bobs down the river
go home, past life, go home hard memory misinterpreted, stuck in my body

shaman spews musk perfume, she taps my body
her rattles shiver me clear, fairy bells awaken my dream spirit

i sing my throat for sacred preparation
like a marriage, my throat must get ready
i tone it clear, sing it through
tap my heart, remind myself

i am tree embodied by Mother, rooted in Grand Mother
blessed by Grand Father, Given Guardians
i am shine
i am child nestled, but more than that
i am strong like tree
even though, like bark i am exposed to the elements, mortal and fallable

yet i am true
i can know who i am
i can root, take my time
know myself and own it
like the eyes of a tree i see the moon rising
and it is me.

Art by Carmen Leon

Art by Carmen Leon

 

