I wrote this about 20 years ago when I met my husband, Daniel. It was recently included in the San Mateo Poet Laureate’s Poetry IS campaign for February…Happy Valentine’s Day!

 

i haven’t been in this room for awhile
it is empty, vacant
a place where loved used to be
the window has been closed tight
no shine allowed in
i blow off dust from the mantel
i hear the echo of my footsteps on the wood floor
a floor where i stepped with love many times, but that was before.
the walls have been bare, it seems a long time.
i sit in my room where i’ve been afraid to visit
but now i’ve met you
dare i open the window
to let your shine light my room?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
there’s a slight breeze, barely brushes my skin
it’s you slipping through
the window, opened just a crack.

I Broke My Heart in San Francisco, Courtesy of William Solis

I Broke My Heart in San Francisco, Courtesy of William Solis

