Meditating is no easy task for me but I’ve found the mantra “here I sit” and the visualization of seeing myself just sitting there really aids me in my endeavor toward stillness. This is to be used in times of feeling frenetic, scattered or uncentered.

sit: party of one

here i sit
pounding
balloon of breath
unmoving
a boulder
here i sit, i repeat to myself
here i sit

wavering
fight at the chance to move
a sword fight
between still and flight

distraction detector alert
any sound
to carry me from:
sit

but wait
remember
nothing but: here i sit
steady
solid in my transparency
heavy in lightness
think: here i sit

defy brain
rule my mood
dissolve my to-do list
sit
here
with this self

sit
with ancestors who birthed me
with echos trying to reach me
with the inner voice who wants to teach me
shut the door to outside

come in where the water is good
where the plants are green
where real nourishment feeds

and sit here
in quiet
with all my selves
stopped and mute

at least
for this moment, i sit

Blooming Meditation by Robin Urton See more of her art at http://www.robinurton.com/

Blooming Meditation by Robin Urton
See more of her art at http://www.robinurton.com/

