Daniel and I were married 18 years ago today. Below are a couple of love poems I found in the archives to say Happy Anniversary to my Beloved.

May 1995 from me to him
i haven’t been in this room for awhile
it is empty, vacant
a place where loved used to be
the window has been closed tight
no shine allowed in
I blow off dust from the mantel
I hear the echo of my footsteps on the wood floor
a floor where i walked with love many times, but that was before.
the walls have been bare, it seems a long time.
i sit in my room where i’ve been afraid to visit
but now i’ve met you
dare i open the window
to share your shine in my room?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
there’s a slight breeze, barely brushes my skin
it’s you slipping through
from the window, opened just a crack.

from him to me, April 2007
she is my precious sweet filling
in a world going bad
she can find the sweetest nectar
from the most bitter fruit
she embraces the love that no one can feel
she is the scented envelope for me to store my pungent thoughts, feelings, doubts
she is the one i love
to share my dreams with
the bitter ones
the sweet ones
she is the woman i love

Maurine & Daniel on their wedding day, April 1, 1996

Maurine & Daniel on their wedding day, April 1, 1996

