we walk hand in hand toward the precipice
the big fall is coming

i can feel it in your slight distance
the gap gets just a little wider every day
your warm love does not burn me as bright
you pay less attention to me and pull away
into some place i am not invited

the pit i will fall into is like a grave
you do this every year
somehow i know if i sit it out, you will come back to me
maybe you just need time alone, time away
from me

i want you too much, you think me selfish
that i’ve had enough, too much of you
your steps away from me grow farther and will soon
leave me in the shadows with only your halo to flicker memories
of our hot nights together
plump blackberry days and watermelon nights
so hot to burn my skin

your kisses fade only by drops each day, but i can feel it already
i beg you, don’t retreat, don’t shut me out
but i know what is coming
we have done this dance before and before
it is less and soon i will have only grey where there was sun and blue

i will drop into persephone’s fall
cover my vacant bones that housed your sunshine
make a cup of tea
and wait the long winter
for your return

Dolly Rapn

Art courtesy of Dolly Rappaport

